TNN Returns to Philadelphia International Cycling Classic

01 June 2015

Race: Philadelphia International Cycling Classic (7 June 2015)

Country: United States

Total Distance: 178.2 kilometers

Race Class: 1.2

Team Novo Nordisk, the world’s first all-diabetes pro cycling team, returns to the United States for the one-day Philadelphia International Cycling Classic (Philly Classic) on June 7th. As America’s most prestigious one-day professional cycling event, the Philly Classic has consistently attracted top talent since its first edition in 1985.

“The Philly Classic is a spectacular event thanks to a long history and the difficult Manayunk Wall climb,” Team Novo Nordisk General Manager Vassili Davidenko said. “We want to notch a top result at a major American race and with the team’s form, we have a good chance in Philadelphia.”

Twenty-three teams will contest the race, held in the Manayunk neighborhood of the historic American city. The UCI 1.2 race features nine laps of a 19.8-km circuit that culminates atop the formidable Manayunk Wall. Team Novo Nordisk’s Javier Megias, who has amassed two top 10 finishes at the race including seventh at last year’s edition, will be eager to get on the podium. The team’s roster features Stephen Clancy (IRL), Kevin De Mesmaeker (BEL), Ben Dilley (USA), Joonas Henttala (FIN)), Charles Planet (FRA), Simon Strobel (GER) and Martijn Verschoor (NED).

The 2015 edition of the Philly Classic has been shortened by one lap from its traditional distance, which should see more riders contest the finish. Yet the Manayunk Wall, a one-kilometer climb that rises from Main Street, is expected to remain decisive as it eliminates all but the best from the peloton. Equally important is Lemon Hill situated in the middle of each circuit lap. Both climbs attract massive crowds, lining the road as riders grind their way up the steep gradients of up to 17 percent.

Team Novo Nordisk Roster Philadelphia International Cycling Classic (June 7):

Stephen Clancy (IRL), Kevin De Mesmaeker (BEL), Ben Dilley (USA), Joonas Henttala (FIN), Charles Planet (FRA), Simon Strobel (GER), Martijn Verschoor (NED).

Sport Director: Vassili Davidenko (USA).

(Photo: ©


Share this story: