Big test awaits in Brussels Cycling Classic

31 May 2024

Team Novo Nordisk will be looking to take the momentum from this week’s results at Circuit Franco-Belge when it lines up in the Brussels Cycling Classic on Sunday. In its latest Belgian adventure, great teamwork saw Matyas Kopecky finish eighth earlier in the week.

The world’s first all-diabetes cycling team will face stiff competition as several World Tour teams line up in a race that will crest iconic classics climbs like the Kapelmuur and the Bosberg.

“We generally break our season into two halves and we’re right at the tail end of the first,” said General Manager Vassili Davidenko. The guys are motivated to end the first half on a high as we saw in Circuit Franco-Belge. We know this block of racing won’t be easy but these one day races before we eventually tackle the Baloise Belgium Tour are a great way to loosen the legs and increase the team cohesion. We’ve come here fully expecting to get a result and believe we have the team to do so.”

The in-form Kopecky will be the protected rider and has a knack for fast finishes against the top teams. He will be able to lean on the experience of Andrea Peron alongside him.

“We have a good atmosphere in the group and very clear on what we want to achieve,” Kopecky said. “I’m very happy with where my shape is but we know on parcours like this, you have to pay 100% attention all the time and you need some luck. I’m excited to race some of the famous climbs and give it our all to continue to inspire the diabetes community.”

Local knowledge will come in the form of Belgian Quinten de Graeve while Alessandro Perracchione joins the squad after an impressive outing in his last race, the International Tour of Hellas.

Nathan Smith was in the thick of the action at Circuit Franco-Belge where he spent most of the day in the breakaway. Antonio Polga continues to rack up valuable race days in his debut season alongside fellow pro season debutant Doriand Percrule.

Team Novo Nordisk at the Brussels Cycling Classic 2nd June:

Quinten de Graeve (BEL, 23)
Matyas Kopecky (CZ, 21)
Alessandro Perracchione (IT, 19)
Andrea Peron (IT, 35)
Doriand Percrule (FR, 24)
Antonio Polga (IT, 25)
Nathan Smith (GBR, 23)

share this story

related stories