Peron Crashes Out of PostNord Danmark Rundt Opener

12 September 2017

Race: Tour of Denmark, PostNord Danmark Rundt, Stage 1

Start/Finish: Frederiksberg/Kalundborg, Denmark

Distance: 176.6 kilometers

Kalundborg, Denmark — Andrea Peron suffered a crash on Stage 1 of the PostNord Danmark Rundt, which forced the Italian sprinter to withdraw from the five-day race.

Peron went down in a large crash around the 100-kilometer mark at a point where the road narrowed. After receiving immediate attention on the side of the road, he was transported to the hospital.

“X-rays confirmed a non-displaced, non-operative fracture to his left clavicle. He will need six to 10 weeks off from racing to heal from his injuries,” explained Team Novo Nordisk Doctor David Castol.

Throughout Tuesday’s 176.6-kilometer race, the peloton fought through rainy and windy conditions. A six-man breakaway had earned a maximum gap of five minutes, but in an unusual turn of events, the escapees took a wrong turn off course and officials neutralized the race to reestablish their gap. The escapees were reeled in as the race approached Kalundborg.

Immediately, attacks flew as the peloton contested three finishing circuits. The high pace and strong winds splintered the field into several groups and in the end, European Under23 champion Casper Pederson (Giant-Castelli) soloed to the win ahead of a 40-man chase group.

Team Novo Nordisk, the world’s first all-diabetes pro cycling team, is currently competing in two races: the Tour of China and the PostNord Danmark Rundt. Wednesday serves as a rest day for the five-stage Chinese race while Stage 2 of the PostNord Danmark Rundt is a 183.8-km run from Svendborg to Odense.



  • 1st: Casper Pederson (Team Giant- Castelli): 4:07:57
  • 2nd: Nacer Bouhanni (Cofidis, Solutions Credits): 0:07 behind Pederson
  • 3rd: Phil Bauhaus (Team Sunweb): 0:07 behind Pederson 

Team Novo Nordisk Results: 

  • Charles Planet: 64th: 1:05 behind Pederson
  • David Lozano: 88th: 7:33 behind Pederson
  • Martijn Verschoor: 89th: 7:33 behind Pederson
  • Joonas Henttala: 90th: 7:33 behind Pederson
  • Romain Gioux: 94th: 7:33 behind Pederson
  • Fabio Calabria: 121st: 8:19 behind Pederson
  • Javier Megias: 122nd: 8:51 behind Pederson

(Photos: ©René Vignernon)

share this story

related stories