TNN Talks: Gerd de Keijzer

03 October 2016

You might have known that Pro rider Gerd de Keijzer began cycling with his local cycling club when he was seven years old and that he was diagnosed with diabetes while following the Tour de France in a camper with his family. But did you know that Gerd also loves “Band of Brothers” and is unable to race his best if his socks aren’t just right?

Below, the Dutch rider shares a few things you may not know this edition of TNN Talks.

Favorite food when traveling:

Good question: when traveling, I don’t really have a favorite food.

But right now, after finishing 3 weeks of racing in China, I mostly miss the local foods, which I have at home. 

Favorite food from your home country:

Some of my favorites are Dutch Campina milk, worstenbroodje (which is a Dutch sausage roll) and local multigrain bread with chocolate sprinkles.

Favorite musician/band:

I’m mostly into dance/house music, like Dutch DJ Martin Garrix.

Besides that, I like most of the up-to-date top 40 music.

Do you use a pen or pump?

I use a pump for my basal insulin and a pen for my mealtime insulin.

Anyone else in your family with diabetes?

No one in my family is living with diabetes- only me!
Gerd de Keijzer | Team Novo Nordisk

Favorite movie:

I like the “Band of Brothers” series, and I also really like the “Fast and Furious” film series.

Last book you read:

Ha-ha, good question. They made me read so many books in school that I’m kind of over reading for the moment.

Nowadays, I mostly just read through the cycling magazines.

Worst way someone has mispronounced your name:

“Gert de Zeijzer”…just like it’s printed on the team’s rooming list.

Any pre-race rituals?

Yes- making sure my socks are on properly.

For me, the correct sock height is really important. The sock needs to fit perfectly, otherwise I’ll be distracted the entire race.

Favorite race:

After getting the experience of racing in this year’s Tour of Utah, I have to say that’s my number one.

Besides the fact that it’s a crazy-hard race, the whole atmosphere around it was so nice to be part of.

Biggest hero in life:

My father. He is such an inspiration to me and a great example in life.

Favorite hobby off the bike:

I really enjoy walking my dog and spending time with my girlfriend.

After being a long time on the road, these are the things I miss the most.

Night owl or early riser:

I’d say I’m a night owl. I hate to wake up early.

Favorite ice cream flavor:

It’s a toss-up between banana and lemon…but if I were forced to choose, I’d have to say lemon.

Favorite spot to get coffee:

There are some good places in Cambrils, Spain. There, you can grab a seat on the terrace, watching over the port, and sit there all day long.

Favorite place you’ve visited:

In wintertime, I really like Berwang in Austria.

In summertime, I really like Norway and Miami Platja in Spain.
Team Novo Nordisk | Gerd de Keijzer

Places you’d most like to holiday in:

I’d really like to do a winter holiday sometime in Colorado.

And in summer, Spain and Italy are always nice to visit.

Languages spoken:

I speak Dutch, English and a little bit of German.

Where people can follow you:

Facebook: Gerd de Keijzer

Twitter: @GerddeKeijzer

Instagram: @GerddeKeijzer

share this story

related stories