Team Novo Nordisk Confirm 18 Rider Roster for 2023

05 December 2022

Team Novo Nordisk, the world’s first all diabetes professional cycling team go into 2023 with an 18-rider roster that combines youthful talent with experience and ready to take on their 16th season in the UCI pro ranks.

If 2021 was the season of frustration, then 2022 was the season of rediscovery and results. Top ten leading to the podium and the podium leading to victory. Finally.

At GP Kranj in Slovenia last July Andrea Peron achieved his lifelong dream of a professional win, demolishing the field of competition with an early attack towards the top of the final climb in central Kranj and exploding into the last 500m with nothing but focus and raw power pushing through the pedals, over the finish line and overcome with emotion.

2022 came together in that moment. A decade long career encapsulated in the final kilometer of a bike race. 500 million people living with diabetes around the world sharing what inspiration can look like and a community brought together with the joy of what is possible.

“What a season we had,” began CEO & Co Founder Phil Southerland“After the challenges of 2021, we started this year by telling the guys to get back to basics. Go out there and race with a smile on your face and above all have fun. Enjoy being here and use that enjoyment to channel the pressure of racing for results at the highest level of professional cycling.”

“Guess what? It worked. Not only did we have our most consistent season ever in terms of results, our most consistent rider Andrea Peron, achieved his first career win in Slovenia at GP Kranj. After ten years of seconds, thirds, top five, top ten and breakaways in monuments he kept pushing and banging on the door until he burst through. Diabetes didn’t stop him, and neither could the competition and I don’t think the future will either.”

“The future is something that we all have an eye on and something that we invest in, which is why this seasons performances and results go hand in hand with our documentary Ride for your L1fe – which is on YouTube right now -because these are some of the tools at our disposal to inspire the next Andrea Peron and Charles Planet and it’s one of our goals to keep doing that.”

Only one change appears on the roster for 2023 with Uzbekistani climber Ulugbek Saidov returning to the TNN pro team after a season spent gaining experience and results racing for the Uzbekistan national team.

“We’re very satisfied with our performances in 2022,” said General Manager Vassili Davidenko. “To be sitting here reflecting on multiple podiums, top ten placings and Andrea’s win at GP Kranj feels like a good place to be, but also a place that we need to be more often. It’s very important that we kick on in 2023 and carry the momentum from this year, there were many positive moments including Matyas (Kopecky) and Filippo (Ridolfo) starting their pro careers strongly and developing talents like Hamish (Beadle) beginning to show maturity and produce solid performances.”

“But what pleased me the most was the team spirit and the togetherness, after such a difficult 2021 we could be forgiven for letting our heads drop, but we channeled that energy and used it as motivation. Now we approach 2023 with the same attitude and fundamentally the same team.”

“We welcome back Ulugbek (Saidov) who has been on his own journey of development and is now ready to go again and play his part in helping the team. I’m excited to see what 2023 has in store and I’m sure that if we put the same hard work in then we are going to see more results and more smiles on our faces.”

Once again the balance between experience and youthful talent will be important in 2023 with the older established captains Peron, Charles Planet and David Lozano looking to bring on the younger riders as second year pro’s Matyas Kopecky and Filippo Ridolfo look to repeat their positive debut seasons and push on to the next level.

Team Novo Nordisk for 2023:

Hamish Beadle (NZL, 24)

Sam Brand (GBR, 31)

Robbe Ceurens (BEL, 21)

Stephen Clancy (IRL, 30)

Lucas Dauge (FRA, 25)

Gerd de Keijzer (NLD, 28)

Jan Dunnewind (NLD, 24)

Joonas Henttala (FIN, 31)

Declan Irvine (AUS, 23)

Matyas Kopecky (CZE, 19)

Peter Kusztor (HUN, 37)

David Lozano (ESP, 33)

Andrea Peron (ITA, 34)

Logan Phippen (USA, 30)

Charles Planet (FRA, 29)

Umberto Poli (ITA, 26)

Filippo Ridolfo (ITA, 21)

Ulugbek Saidov (UZB, 26)

share this story

related stories